top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Bailey

Minimal Waste During a Pandemic.

The Pandemic has effected us all in so many ways, including our waste habits. I find myself buying dried goods in plastic and paper bags again from the grocery store instead of my own jars at the Bulk Barn because we cannot do so right now. When we go to get a take out coffee, we are unable to use our own travel mugs and heaven forbid you ask them to fill your water bottle. But, there are many ways though in which to continue your minimal waste journey where you can.


If you usually give or get gifts for Valentine's Day, I encourage you to ask for or purchase something that's long lasting and useful instead of something that you'll throw away the next day. Or at least ask for something that is without waste or compostable, flowers can come in paper instead of plastic wrapping. This is something small that you can do over the next month and make a change.


One thing I bought myself as a gift for my birthday a few months ago was a bidet, yes I am grouping a bidet with a romantic holiday like Valentine's Day ha ha I am not conventional. But I promise it will save waste as well as money in the long run (and you'll never want for toilet paper if there is another shortage). Other things that are a bit more expensive and therefore make great gifts would be a system for making coffee that excites you instead of getting take out each day, or possibly a green bin for compost or a nice water bottle to use at work or around the house.


This one I will forgive you men who are reading if you skip this paragraph as I am about to dive deep into minimal waste menstrual supplies. If you are a woman like myself and get your period each month, and you've been scared to make the change to a Diva Cup or to reusable pads or underwear. Now is the time to try something new if you are at home or working reduced hours or whatever that may be. Don't be scared now! You're living through a pandemic for goodness sake! You can do this, make the jump. It is life changing, money saving, and world saving to have a minimal waste period routine.


Something else I've done with my extra time since we cannot travel or do anything, is purge myself of all the things I never use. Take time now to go through that junk drawer you keep shoving things into, or that closet that holds all the last five years' Christmas gifts you got that you'll never use. You could sell them on Facebook marketplace (safely with masks and social distancing of course) or donate them when you can. Finding new homes for things now that you have time instead of someone buying new is reducing waste as well, and you can make a few extra bucks while you're at it which is grand.


Sometimes all we need is a sense of a job well done and to put real work into a task. If you're laid off or without work, or just need a task to make you feel accomplished as I do from time to time, try sprucing up something in your home. Putting effort into updating something instead of throwing it out and buying from new is definitely saving waste and can save money as well. Putting some life into your home right now to make sure yourself a bit happier in a time like this can really make a difference with your mental health, it definitely has for me. I repainted my kitchen cupboards and it has made all the difference with how homey and happy our condo makes me.


Kitchen - before
Kitchen - after

All in all, minimal waste is important. Taking steps in the right direction is important and encouraging others to do the same is important. But right now, if getting that Starbucks is what is getting you through the day, treat yourself. Changes are important, but so is mental health right now, make the changes where you can. Nothing can change in a day, and no one is asking you to! These are just ideas to keep you motivated and possibly give you ideas during this time where we feel like there's nothing we can do.

bottom of page