top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Bailey

Lip Balm, and Making Your Own.

Updated: Aug 27, 2019

Basic and everyday-use items unfortunately cannot often be purchased at a regular store without coming wrapped in one-use plastic material. Some of these things cannot be avoided but a lot of them you can find alternatives for. There are some items I have had to learn to draw a line for where my health is concerned and have had to settle for the main brand version (such as toothpaste). But there are many things that you can purchase, or make at home, that work just as good, if not better than their big brand and plastic wrapped version.


One of my most common everyday items is Lip Balm, I am constantly using it and they usually only come in one-use, disposable plastic tubes or tubs that you throw away after they are empty. This is one thing that I decided to splurge on at Lush a while ago, a lip balm in a metal tin that was completely recyclable and that I love. It was expensive, but I it worked really well and lasted a while. I read the ingredients, and I loved that I could pronounce and knew everything in the list. Then I thought: why spend ten dollars on a tiny tub of that when I can purchase my own ingredients and make a bunch of it and save money as well as waste!


And so I did just that. Last weekend I took the organic Shea Butter and Bees Wax that I bought off Amazon, as well as the Coconut Oil that I bought from the Bulk Barn, and double boiled it all down and melted it. I used equal parts of each, this was my first attempt and that seemed like the perfect first try. I think next time, or if you would like to try, I would do a bit more Coconut Oil and a bit less Bees Wax as it doesn't melt on my finger as much as I would like, but it works! Once it was all melted in the double boil, I added a bit of Peppermint Essential Oil, I didn't add too much as I don't like very potent smells but you can add as much as you want.


This took me an hour or so, and I made ten pots which, if I were going to keep it all for myself, would last me over a year! It was cheaper, it minimized my waste, as I will reuse the tins, and I have more ingredients to make a whole other batch.


One thing too, if you feel like you don't have enough time to make all your own products, talk to your friends about all making one everyday item and then trading between yourselves. My cousins and I do this a lot (B's Slick Body Butter, am I right ladies ha ha). You could also make it a fun gathering, to get together and make little projects like this and maybe while you have a delicious beer!


Minimizing waste doesn't have to be a chore, in fact, it can be fun! Step out of your comfort zone and try something new with a friend or on your own. I started by thinking of the top ten or fifteen things that I use in my everyday life and tried to minimize those things to zero or at least minimal waste. Some of these things I make myself, some of these things I replaced as they broke or got worn out with zero waste products, and some of these things I buy regularly from an ethical company (See my first Minimal Waste blog post to see the rules I follow in my Minimal Waste journey that could help you, too). No, it isn't always the most convenient to have to make your own or purchase online and wait for the product in the mail but plan ahead, keep extra, and replenish your stash when it gets low.


The point I am trying to make is this: trial and error and try again. Sometimes it takes a while to find your happy replacement but that is half the fun. Minimal Waste should be a lifestyle and sort of a hobby. Nothing is a sacrifice, in fact I feel like the products I use now, though they are few and far between, are the best products I have ever used as I have minimized to a few good quality and natural (where I can) items.


If you try to make your own products or try something minimal waste, reach out to me and let me know how it goes! I hope this inspires you to try something new today.


bottom of page