top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Bailey

Social Media and My Coping Tools.


The line between loving what you are doing and resenting your passion is so thin. I have recently met some people who straddle the line with expert precision but I have also met people who wouldn't touch their old passions with a ten foot pole. Taking space and time to take a break is important especially for those of us in the social media world. It can be tough, feeling constantly pressured to make that next post and keep everyone's attention. I have been through this twice, first with a fitness instagram account and now with my craft beer account. Both times I have found it extremely important and yet difficult to keep grounded and true to myself. Today I want to talk about what I do to keep myself sane and how I keep my social media presence from being my only presence.


I am not by any means one of the "big guns" when it comes to beerstagraming, in fact there are many accounts that have thousands and thousands of followers. But I don't think that the message changes between an account with no followers to an account that is overly popular. If I ever find myself getting too deep, I stop and ask myself a few questions: Is this effecting my relationships with my friends and family? Is this effecting my productivity at work? Is this effecting my mental stability negatively? Does my social media presence mean more to me than my real life? Keeping it real is very important. I want to be present and in the moment in everything that happens in my life. I don't want to be the woman snapping selfies while the sun sets. I want to be the woman sitting in the sand watching the sunset not caring where my phone is. There is a fine line, and walking it and not crossing it is important.


Ocean Beach, San Diego, California.

Keep your account real, it is important to organically grow into yourself because that is when you know it wont feel like a job after a few months. This doesn't mean you can't use filters or stage a great photo. But don't photoshop your body. And don't force anything, if it isn't working, move on and be okay with that. Nothing is more important than your happiness. Also, try something for me: whatever your thing is, enjoying it a few times without taking a picture and posting it too. Be in the moment. Set your phone and camera aside, or better yet, leave them at home. And see how you feel. I usually feel naked and like I am missing a limb, and that is when I know I need to take a break. Setting your social media aside to fully enjoy a moment without worrying about getting a good picture before the head on your beer disappears (am I right beer fam?) is so important. Take a deep breath and enjoy it once in a while. You've earned it.


I love my Instagram account. I love sharing what I love with other people who love it too. Sometimes I do get dressed up to take a cute picture. But sometimes I post without make up and in my track pants, show your true self. Be vulnerable. You are a treasure just as you are, and don't let anyone tell you any differently. People love genuine people. People watch fake people to be entertained but people follow, like, and respect real people because they can relate. You can truly bond with your online friends if you are your true self. Try it, it is invigorating. If you don't like a post later, you can always delete it. Nothing has to be perfect or permanent. Nothing in life ever is.


Cliffs of Moher, Ireland.

If you are feeling overwhelmed, turn your account off for a bit, deactivate and unplug. Going a few days, weeks or even months without your social media can really help you get in-touch with your real life. If people judge you or are angry, then they aren't true followers or friends. You are a human being. You need space to live and breathe too. Take it when you need it, and come back with a selfie game stronger than ever.

I hope you find these ideas helpful, we are all in the same boat, we are all feeling the same feeling. I challenge you to take a break, see how you feel. Even if it is just for a day, or leave your cellphone at home and go for a walk with your dog, a friend, or alone. It's nice to just live. Then you can come back invigorated, or not come back at all. The choice is up to you.

bottom of page